Gmail Ripoff scam.
Its reported that there is Gmail fraud on eBay:
It has been reported to us that some of the Gmail sales on eBay may be less than legitimate. According to one poster on the Blogger Forum, he purchased what he thought was a Gmail invitation and all he got was a link to us here on the Gmail Exchange forum.People are buying Gmail invites on eBay for a while now. While we have been giving them away just for the asking. So far we haven't had to refuse anyone. There should be less demand now because the invites should be growing expedentially. We first were given 2 invites then three, last week they offered 5 invites per account. I expect that it won't be to much longer before it is completely open to the public.
Not a very good purchase since probably only about 10% of the requests for Gmail can be filled. Some people will do anything for a buck.
Incidentally, there are about 4800 listings in eBay under "Gmail" at the current time.

3 Comments:
I got scammed out of $5 for a gmail account on ebay. I purchased an expired invite.
Is there any way to help me got one soon?
THanks Chris
Well I started to feel like a fool until I didscovered how many other people were scammed as well. anyone remember the orkut.com invites? I bought one of them (i dunno, maybe i have no friends to invite me yet i feel i must be part of everything new? [GRIN]) anyway, that worked out great, so IU thought this would too... I got my $5 bucks swiped also. I realy wish there WAS a way I could help google with the beta testing.... [HINT] :) anyway, my email is ckcelite@yahoo.com, and i would be sooo greatful if someone whould be able to help me out, thanks.
I used the isnoop service to send me invites twice, and never received them at my email.com address (email.com which used to be owned by snap.com, then NBCi, now ???). I'm hearing that the free email services may be bouncing gmail invites or flushing them as spam, which is ironic because this may be the only spam that email.com ever HAS blocked.
Do I understand correctly that you may have a gmail invite to give away? If so, please send it to hunterryan AT optonline DOT net. I would be insanely appreciative if you could do this, as I am bigtime hesitant to get ripped off on ebay.
Post a Comment
<< Home